On Dec 28, 2023, “Gomburza” won big, while “Firefly” took Best Picture at the 49th MMFF Gabi ng Parangal.

 On Dec 28, 2023, “Gomburza” won big, while “Firefly” took Best Picture at the 49th MMFF Gabi ng Parangal.

49th MMFF Gabi ng Parangal Celebrates Winners: “Gomburza” and “Firefly” Among Big Winners

The 49th Metro Manila Film Festival (MMFF) Gabi ng Parangal celebrated the winners, marking a lively return of moviegoers to theaters to watch Filipino films.

The historical movie “Gomburza” emerged as the biggest winner, taking home seven trophies including Best Sound, Best Production Design, Best Cinematography, Gatpuno Antonio Villegas Cultural Award, Best Director, Best Actor, and Second Best Picture.

The fantasy film “Firefly” was awarded Best Picture and also won Best Child Performer and Best Screenplay.

Horror film “Mallari” received four awards: Best Musical Score, Best Visual Effects, Best Supporting Actor, and Third Best Picture.

During the awarding ceremony held at the New Frontier Theater in Quezon City on December 27, MMFF Executive Chairman and MMDA Deputy Chairman Usec. Frisco San Juan Jr. emphasized the celebration of outstanding achievements and creativity in the Filipino film industry. He commended the filmmakers, producers, crew members, and actors for their hard work and dedication.

San Juan urged continued support and advocacy for the growth of the local film industry and encouraged the showcasing of Filipino talent and creativity internationally.

The 10 official entries will be screened at the Manila International Film Festival (MIFF) in Los Angeles, California in January 2024.

Here is the complete list of winners:

  • Best Picture: “Firefly”
  • 2nd Best Picture: “Gomburza”
  • 3rd Best Picture: “Mallari”
  • 4th Best Picture: “When I Met You in Tokyo”
  • Best Actor: Cedrick Juan, “Gomburza”
  • Best Actress: Vilma Santos, “When I Met You in Tokyo”
  • Best Supporting Actor: JC Santos, “Mallari”
  • Best Supporting Actress: Miles Ocampo, “Family of Two”
  • Best Director: Pepe Diokno, “Gomburza”
  • Best Screenplay: Angeli Atienza, “Firefly”
  • Best Child Performer: Euwann Mikaell, “Firefly”
  • Best Cinematography: Carlo Canlas Mendoza, “Gomburza”
  • Best Editing: Benjamin Tolentino, “(K)ampon”
  • Best Production Design: Ericson Navarro, “Gomburza”
  • Best Original Theme Song: “Finggah Lickin” by Teresa Barrozo, “Becky and Badette”
  • Best Visual Effects: Gaspar Mangarin, “Mallari”
  • Best Musical Score: Von de Guzman, “Mallari”
  • Best Sound: Melvin Q. Rivera and Louie Boy Bauson, “Gomburza”
  • Gender Sensitivity Award: “Becky and Badette”
  • Fernando Poe Jr. Memorial Award for Excellence: “When I Met You in Tokyo”
  • Gatpuno Antonio Villegas Cultural Award: “Gomburza”
  • Marichu Vera-Perez Maceda Memorial Award: Lily Monteverde
  • Best Float: “When I Met You in Tokyo”

Some awardees such as Best Actress Vilma Santos and Best Director Pepe Diokno expressed their delight that the Filipino tradition of watching movies with family and friends during the holidays is still alive. They also acknowledged that the MMFF has successfully brought back moviegoers to theaters, which is a positive trend for the local film industry.

The MMFF started on December 25 and will continue until January 7, 2024. This year’s edition is presented in partnership with the Philippine Charity Sweepstakes Office.

Organized by the Metropolitan Manila Development Authority, the MMFF aims to promote and preserve Philippine cinema. The proceeds from the festival support various beneficiaries in the film industry, including the Movie Workers Welfare Foundation (Mowelfund), the Film Academy of the Philippines, the Motion Picture Anti-Film Piracy Council, the Optical Media Board, and the Film Development Council of the Philippines.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *